Our Team

A community-driven foundation dedicated to helping those in need.

As a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization, the Palmetto Foundation is not connected to any individual organization, institution or government entity. We are able to develop programs based on specific needs and the best practices that address them. We value the support we receive from legislators, educators, public safety officials, first responders and their role in encouraging our mission.

Martine Helou

Executive Director

Martine came to the Palmetto Foundation after a successful tenure as the Community Relations and Correspondence Director at the Greenville County Sheriff’s Office. While with the county, Martine created the VOICE program for middle school-aged adolescents, which focused on the early prevention of opioid abuse. The program fostered proactive collaboration between the sheriff’s office and area school districts, FBI and DEA personnel, and local addiction treatment and recovery providers. VOICE received state and national attention for its signature approach to confronting the opioid epidemic in Greenville County.

Today, the Palmetto Foundation provides the framework and support to successfully implement Martine’s unique substance abuse and addiction methodology across South Carolina. The approach is making an impact, helping prevent and/or overcome the devastating effects of substance abuse among youth, especially opiate addiction. Martine also developed an outreach program in partnership with first responders that was launched in Greenville County as a Palmetto Foundation initiative.

Martine is an alumna of Furman University, and has two sons who share her Lebanese-American heritage. After living and working all over the world, she brings more than 25 years of professional experience in communications, public relations, sales and marketing to the Palmetto Foundation – as well as her passionate dedication to its mission.

Jennifer Woodard

Administrative Assistant
Co-Presenter of ABF “Anything But Free Program”

Board of Directors

Bruce Loveless


Vice Chairman
Irmo-Chapin Recreation Commission
President, Loveless Yarborough Real Estate

Lee Macilwinen

Vice President

Investment Manager, SCRA

John Sowards


Member, Nexsen Pruet LLC

Bill Pruett


WCP Capital Management LLC

Dr. Akil Ross


2018 NASSP National Principal of the Year

Pastor Ben Sloan


Senior Pastor
Lake Murray Presbyterian Church

Trey Harrell


Harrell, Martin & Peace, P.A.

Jamie Fore


Broker in Charge
Loveless and Yarborough Real Estate


Carolyn McClam


Dr. of Pharmacy
Palmetto Richland Health

Chris Leventis, Treasurer_Owner, Leventis Financial, LLC

Chris Leventis


Leventis Financial, LLC